Antenna material and regulations

SA7DXR

Hej!

I am quite new to Sweden, got my Swedish callsign SA7DXR last November. (Not yet proficient with the language, sorry)
Now moving to a new QTH with a bit more space and increased apetite for better antennas, and I am curious about couple of things:
- Any tips on where to buy aluminium tubes and rods to build HF and VHF antennas?
- Where can I read about regulations and limitations for installing the antennas in own backyard (e.g. max height, what permits are needed etc.)?

Thanks in advance for your time and support!

Goran SA7DXR / YT7AW

Welcome to Sweden and ham.se!
Unfortunately I cannot help very much with either; I quickly googled aluminum tube suppliers but don't dare to recommend any as I don't have first hand experience. Undoubtedly others here can fill in.

With respect to regulations you can (should, perhaps) check with you local "kommun" what antennas are required to have a permit "byggnadslov" and what do not. I seem to recall that "normal" radio masts are exempt, but there are I believe additional rules such as if it falls, it should not hit your neighbor on the head.

I apologize for the non-answers.

In theory, antenna installations "serving only one property" are exempt from building permits, but
the rules are interpreted differently between jurisdictions. You are advised to check with local authorities
what the conditions in your municipality are.

Also, it is advisable to have some idea about the general sentiments about antennas among your neighbours and in the local housing community.

Regarding the aluminium suppliers, it has become quite difficult and also expensive to buy aluminium in smaller quantities as an individual. Usually suppliers require some form of business account in order to buy from them.

You could check with Alutrade in Växjö if they sell in smaller quantities.

If you have a local company called Handelsstål they nowadays sell aluminum to private individuals.